Permanent Residency

Permanent residence of Canada is the status of a person who is not a Canadian citizen but who has been granted permission to live and work in Canada without any time limit on their stay.

A foreign national must make an application to Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) to become a permanent residence. As a permanent resident you must live in Canada for two years out of every five, or risk losing that status. 

Permanent residency status has a number of benefits:

  • The right to live, study and work, anywhere in Canada
  • Obtain medical, social benefits, employment insurance and Canada Pension Plan payments
  • Protections under the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms
  • The right to sponsor relatives for permanent residence, subject to fulfilling residence criteria and assurance of support requirements.
  • Apply for Canadian citizenship after three years (1095 days) in Canada.

There are a number of programs that you can apply for permanent residence under; they fall under Economic classes and non-economic classes:

The Economic classes allow the applicants to be selected on the basis of their ability to become economically established in Canada. These programs include the following:

Non-economic classes allow applicants to be selected for permanent residence on the basis of family-reunification, social, and humanitarian objectives .These programs include the following:

  • Members of the family class
  • Adoptions
  • Spouse or common-law partner in Canada class
  • Humanitarian and compassionate consideration
  • Protected persons
  • Temporary resident permit holders

Once you have successful received permanent residence, you will need to apply for the permanent resident card (PR card); this is the official proof of permanent resident status in Canada. There are residency requirements and obligations to obtain and maintain permanent resident status.

For assistance finding the best pathway to permanent residence, complete one of our free assessments or contact us for consultation to discuss the best options for you.



Mitcham, Surrey

United Kingdom

Email: GoCanadaVisas

Contact: +44 (0)208 123 1597

©GoCanadaVisas | Sitemap