New Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot

June 18, 2019 Samantha Skerrett No comments exist

Eleven communities to attract newcomers to support middle-class jobs.

The Canadian Government has selected eleven rural and northern communities as part of the new Rural and Northern Immigration Pilot to invite newcomers to make these communities their home.

Due to the ageing Canadian population and birth rate declines, rural Canada’s workforce has seen a significant decrease in available workers. This pilot will help attract people that are needed to drive economic growth and help support middle-class jobs in these communities.

The participating communities will have access to a range of supports to test this new innovative, community-driven model that will help fill labour gaps. The selected communities are:

ALBERTA – Claresholm

BRITISH COLUMBIA – West Kootenay, Vernon

MANITOBA-Gretna-Rhineland-Altona-Plum Coulee, Brandon

ONTARIO -Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Timmins, North Bay


Further eligibility criteria will be released during summer 2019. Newcomers are expected to begin to arrive under this pilot in 2020.

Canada is committed to attracting the best talent around the world to fill skill shortages and drive local economies in rural Canada that will benefit all Canadians.

Need assistance? Contact us today or complete our Assessment Form to find  the right Immigration Program for you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *